broken_heart_01

I really don’t want this blog to be about my relationship and would have preferred never to bring it up, but it was such a momentous event in my life that to have skipped over it would have made the rest of this blog a fraud.

Without going into details, I was truly crushed – my heart was broken and I became very, very sad. I didn’t want to talk about it; I didn’t want to be around anyone; and I was deeply torn.

I had always wanted Friends Without Borders to be a one-time event – a gigantic gift of love from the children of India to the children of Pakistan with no expectations of anything in return. I never wanted to create an organization. I just wanted it all to dissolve when we were done. It wasn’t until the final weeks that I got talked into helping aid a reciprocal gesture, and it sure seemed like the right thing to do.

I don’t know if it’s possible for me to convey how aligned everything was – the vision, the connections, the necessary steps. The potential beyond what we had already done was far more extraordinary, and easily within grasp. It would require real sacrifice and a lot of hard work, but I was ready. It was totally do-able.  On Round 2, we were about to launch a movement that would forever rock the nations of India and Pakistan – and other countries would have likely followed.

Knowing that my relationship was in serious jeopardy, I became paralyzed. I can see how different people may have different views on how I should have handled it, but I did my best, stuck somewhere in the middle. I kept things moving forward as best as I could, trying not to over-promise anything that I wasn’t going to be able to deliver as a sad person.

CB003752One by one, deadlines that had to be hit to make things happen began to pass, and as time went on, the incredible dream slowly began to crumble, adding more and more loss to my sadness.

I don’t want to be too dramatic, but that is what was happening internally, and we reached a point where plans had to be pretty much scrapped altogether.

The bright side is that Love and I are still ‘together as one’ (great song). There is unfinished business with Friends Without Borders and the FWB team plans to start it back up in January. Though the plans have been downsized, the heart hasn’t changed, and with a smaller scope, we get to channel that heart straight to the kids. It’s looking to be pretty amazing.

Apologies to everyone for retreating a little. What goes up must come down. It’s a great ride, and as my friend Sukh says, “a great life.”

